Click on the map for enlarged map


323 - 133 BCE

Pergamon (Bergama, Pergamum) was a small settlement and originally a mountain fortress in the southern Mysia during antiquity (Follow this hyperlink for Pergamon of antiquity). The city was located inland from the Aegean Sea near the Caicus River ( Bakir Cay ). The city became prominent in the Hellenistic Period. Pergamon emerged as an independent Kingdom following the death of Alexander the Great. The General Philetaerus revolted against  King Lysimachus of Thrace and set up his own kingdom in the Pergamon. It came to be known as the Attalid Kingdom (after his nephew Attalus). The power of the Attalids grew from the successful battles against the Gauls, weakening of Selucid Kingdom and close alliance with Romans.

Kings of Pergamon

Philetaerus (282-263 BCE)

Eumenes I (263-241 BCE).

Attalus I (241-197 BCE).

Eumenes II (197-159 BCE).

Attalus II (159-138 BCE).

Attalus II (159-138 BCE).

Attalus III (138-133 BCE).

Attalus III bequeathed the kingdom to Rome in 133 BCE. Rome set up the province of Asia in 129 BCE by combining Ionia and the Kingdom of Pergamum.


Ancient Country List


RK. June 20, 2002